of the Publishers and the Published of Catalonia

Els nostres clàssics (1924-)

(Actualització 08/01/2016)

The first collection of the publisher Barcino was born with the idea of presenting the great works of medieval Catalan literature to a non-academic audience. Lo somni by Bernat Metge was the first title published. Over the years, however, the collection drifted away from its initial purpose, becoming a referent in the publication of critical, scholarly and high culture publications, created with the utmost linguistic care. The works of Francesc Eiximenis, Ramon Llull, Ausiàs March and Bernat Metge have been published and among many others, the works of Ramon Aramon i Serra, Pere Bohigas, Miquel Coll i Alentorn and Martí de Riquer. Josep Obiols designed the logo of the collection.

Currently, the collection has two series: Medieval authors for works written from as early as the fifteenth century and modern authors, dating from the sixteenth century to the beginning of the nineteenth century. 

In 1997, the collection received the Creu de Sant Jordi (Saint George's Cross).